Prime Minister Fiame Naomi Mataafa Chairs First Meeting of Samoa’s New Cabinet



Tuesday 27 July 2021 Apia Samoa. The new Prime Minister of Samoa, Hon Fiame Naomi Mata’afa and her selected Cabinet members have moved into their ministerial offices and held their first meeting of Cabinet this morning, after allowing the Samoa media to freely take photographs and videos of the historical event.

Samoa’s first woman Prime Minister sat at the head of the oval Cabinet table, under the line-up of former Prime Ministers’ portraits, including her father and Samoa’s first Prime Minister; Hon Fiame Mataʻafa Faumuina Mulinuʻu II.

Honourable Fiame welcomed the media and allowed them to take photos of herself and cabinet ministers before the meeting began at 10am in the morning.

“We give you the chance to freely take photographs of the as you wish of the new Cabinet, and when you’re done, please take your leave and allow us to start”.

The local media were grateful for the opportunity and as such, many online news sites have displayed photos and images of the Cabinet meeting that marks the end of Samoa’s 110 day political crisis.

Check this out in Salelologa on the Big Island of Savaii. Call 759-0962.

“O le a tuu atu le avanoa e pule lava oe i lau ata e pue o le laulau o le Kapeneta ma sui fou o le Kapeneta ae a maea faamolemole ona tatou tuumuli lea ae tuu mai loa le matou galuega sei fai i le taimi nei faamolemole.”

Established just one year ago by former HRPP Cabinet Minister and Speaker of the House Laaulialemalietoa Leuatea Polataivao Schmidt, the Fa’atuatua i Le Atua Samoa ua Tasi (FAST) party have done what many would have never thought possible – and ended the 40 year reign of the Human Rights Protection Party whove been in power since 1982.

FAST won 25 of Samoa’s 51 parliamentary seats after the April 9th general election, and with Independent Tuala Tevaga Ponifasio pledging his allegiance, FAST secured a one-seat majority with 26 seats.

The FAST Party Cabinet

Hon Fiame Naomi Mataafa; Prime Minister of Samoa and Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Office of the Attorney General, the Office of the Ombudsman, the Samoa Public Service Commission as well as the National Emergency Operations Centre. The Prime Minister is also for this time, overlooking the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, as well as the Samoa Tourism Authority.

Hon Tuala Tevaga Ponifasio; Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Customs and Revenue.

Hon Mulipola Anarosa Molioo; Samoa’s first woman Minister of Finance which includes financial institutions such as the Central Bank of Samoa and the regulation of commercial banks and insurance companies, Samoa International Finance Authority (SIFA), Development Bank of Samoa, and SNPF.

Hon La’aulialemalietoa Leuatea Polataivao Schmidt; takes back his previous portfolio of Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, including the Scientific Research Organisation of Samoa (SROS).

Hon Seuula Ioane; Minister of Education, Sports and Culture including the National University of Samoa and the Samoa Qualifications Authority (SQA).

Hon Valasi Tafito Selesele;  Minister of Health, Oceania University of Medicine and National Kidney Foundation.

Hon Olo Afoa Fiti Vaai; Minister of Works, Transport and Infrastructure including all State Owned Enterprises that provide infrastructural services such as EPC, SWA, Samoa Ports Authority (SPA), Samoa Airport Authority (SAA), Samoa Shipping Corporation (SSC) and Samoa Shipping Services (SSS).

Hon Faumuina Leatinuu Wayne Fong; Minister of Commerce Industry and Labour, also the Ministry for Public Enterprises and SOEs such as the Samoa Sports Facilities (SSFA), Samoa Life Assurance Corporation (SLAC), Gambling Control Authority (GCA), the Accident Compensation Corporation (ACC) and the semi-government organisation Samoa Business Hub (SBH). In line with business development, the portfolio also includes Trade and regional agreements such as PICTA and PACER Plus.

Hon Faualo Lefau Harry Schuster; Minister of Police, Prisons and Corrections Services, the Fire and Emergency Services Authority (FESA) and the Office of the Electoral Commissioner (OEC).

Hon Matamua Vasati Sili Pulufana; Minister of Justice and Courts Administration as well as as the Samoa Law Reform Commission.

Hon Leota Laki Sio; Minister for Women, Community and Social Development.

Hon Toelupe Poumulinuku Onesemo; Minister for Communication and Information Technology including the Office of the Regulator and Radio 2AP.