Hong Kong 7s: Match Times, Pools and Standings


Samoa will take on Pacific brothers Fiji in their first match of the 3-day Hong Kong 7s at 5:28pm (8:28pm Samoa time).

Now Available at SSAB.

The Manu Samoa Sevens team are pooled with Argentina, Fiji and Canada. Argentina are currently 2nd on the HSBC World 7s Series table while Fiji are fourth.

Hong Kong 7s Pools

The Manu 7s second match is against Argentina on Saturday at 5:16pm while their final pool game is 9:15pm Saturday against Canada (Samoa times).

Samoa goes into the Hong Kong 7s in 6th place – just 5 points behind Australia and Fiji who are in 4th and 5th place. Samoa is also just 6 points behind 3rd placed France.

Check these out at Le Well.

The World 7s Series is down to the final four tournaments, and the race to finish 4th for automatic qualification to the Olympic Games has become extremely tough. In the first four tournaments this year, there were five different Champions.

1. Hong Kong – Australia

2. Dubai – South Africa

3. Capetown – Samoa

4. Hamilton – Argentina

5. Sydney – New Zealand

New Zealand secured a second championship win in Los Angeles while Argentina snatched up their second win in Vancouver.

Men’s Standings 

Samoa’s Vaafauese Apelu-Maliko is tied for top try scorer with New Zealand’s Akuila Rokolisoa at 28 each.

Paul Scanlan is a close 5th place behind with 25 tries.

The third Samoan in the Top 10 Try Scorers List is Dietrich Roache playing for Australia with 21 tries.

Three Samoans in the Top 10 Try Scorers List.

Top Try Scorers List

Steve Rimoni Onosai is back from injury while Captain Melani Matavao has stayed back to try out for the Manu Samoa 15s Rugby World Cup squad.

The forwards:

Vaafauese Apelu-Maliko (Co-Captain)

Vaovasa Afa-Su’a (Co-Captain)

Motu Opetai

Taunuu Niulevaea

BJ Telefoni Lima

Faamati Specials at SOS Togafuafua main branch and Salelologa Savaii.

The backs:

Paul Eti Slater (also a forward)

Paul Scanlan

Steve Rimoni Onosai

Tuna Tuitama

Neueli Leitufia

Faafoi Falaniko

Malo Luteru

Pelosi Taupo

Brisin Manu Retzlaff-Lima