Two Register to Contest Prime Minister’s Seat for 2021 General Elections

Tuulā Kiliri Lafi Tuitui with Samoa's Electoral Commissioner

23 October 2020, Apia Samoa. Samoa Prime Minister Tuilaepa Lupesoli’ai Aiono Dr Sailele Malielegaoi will be contesting his Parliamentary seat in the upcoming elections after two candidates registered to run against him at the close of nominations this afternoon.

Samoa’s Prime Minister was unopposed in 2016 and 2011.

Tu’ulā Kiliri Lafi Tuitui of Saleapaga village had tried to register in the previous three elections, but was declined and deemed ineligible by the Courts due to various requirements of the Electoral Act on candidate.

He will now run as a Tautua candidate for the upcoming general elections in April 2021.

The village of Saleapaga have given their blessing to Tu’ula to run as a candidate for the Lepa Constituency which includes the villages of Saleapaga, Aufaga and Lepa village.

“I humbly acknowledge the Village Councils stance to allow my registration as a candidate.”

The other candidate for Lepa is Faletagoa’i Tausaga from the village of Aufaga.

200 registered candidate nominations were accepted by the Electoral Commissioner at the close of nominations this afternoon. There were 23 women or 10% amongst the 200.

HRPP – 114. FAST – 50. Tautua  – 14. Independent 15. Samoa First – 6. SIS – 1.

Tuulā Kiliri Lafi Tuitui with Samoa’s Electoral Commissioner

Marieta H Ilalio