Taula All Star Tournament Kicks Off Rugby Season for Apia Union


The Apia Rugby Union is changing its format this year with the Taula All Star tournament that kicks off Saturday 20 June 2020.

The most established Sub Union in Samoa has divided its registered clubs into 4 groups, naming them after the tournament’s major sponsor – Taula Beverages.

Taula East is made up of Moataa, Laulii and Vailele. Taula South sees a combination of Vaiala, Magiagi and Letogo. Taula North will be selected from Apia, SCOPA and United Brothers while Taula West is made up of Vaimoso, Moamoa and Alamagoto.

Responding to questions from Samoa Global News, ARU Secretary and Tournament Director Fuimaono Laifa Vaoiva Petersen said the change in format is a response to the shortened rugby season due to covid lockdowns.

“It is to accomodate the months of June and July and align with the timing of the SRU tournaments”.

The tournament is fully sponsored by Taula and includes an Under 20s development division, and a Senior A division. Taula has been affiliated with the Apia Rugby Union in the past three years since the Super 9 competition, which the Taula Eels has taken out in 2017, 2018 and 2019.

The schedule of matches to be held at the SRU High Performance Grounds for Sat 20 June 2020 is as follows:

Under 20s
10:00am Game 1 – Taula East vs Taula South
11.30am Game 2 – Taula North vs Taula West

Senior A
1.00pm Game 3  – Taula East vs Taula South
3.00pm Game 4 – Taula North vs Taula West

The Apia Rugby Union office bearers are: President – Fuimaono Titimaea Tafua, Vice Pres and SRU Board Member – Fata Pitoaso Malifa, Treasurer – Taulapapa Tafaigata Toilolo and Secretary Fuimaono Laifa Vaoiva Petersen.

Archive photo, 2019 Super 9 Eels vs Chiefs