Sitting MPs Challenge Eligibility of Registered Candidates for 2021 Elections


31 Oct 2020 Apia Samoa. When candidate eligibility petitions closed at 12 noon Friday 30 October, twenty motions were filed with the Supreme Court of Samoa as confirmed by MJCA CEO Moliei Simi-Vaai.

The list of 20 applicants obtained by Samoa Global News includes three sitting Members of Parliament who are challenging the eligibility of candidates registered to contest their respective seats for the 2021 general elections.

The Electoral Commissioner is also being sued for accepting the nominations, included in the 200 registered candidates list announced by OEC at the close of registrations last week Friday 23rd October.

Applicants include Minister of Finance Sili Epa Tuioti bringing a case against businessman Fiu Gasologa Tavita Foloki and the Electoral Commissioner.

Sili Epa Tuioti challenges Fiu Gasologa Foloki.

Fiu Gasologa is one of three candidates from the village of Salelologa approved by the Electoral Commissioner to contest the seat for Faasaleleaga#1 currently held by the Minister of Finance. Fiu Gasologa was a notable member of the Minister’s campaign supporters in the lead up to the 2016 general election.

Tuifaasisina is also challenging the eligibility of another registered candidate, Mataafa Fonofaavae Mataafa.

Tuifaasisina Misa Lisati Leleisiuao

Chair of the Parliamentary Finance and Expenditure Committee, Aliimalemanu Alofa Tuuau is challenging the eligibility of Lafaitele Patrick Leiataualesa; one of three registered candidates for Alataua Sisifo.

Lafaitele Patrick Leiataualesa

Lafaitele was an Associate Minister during the 2011-2016 parliamentary term. He lost his seat to Aliimalemanu Alofa in the 2016 general elections.

Marieta H Ilalio