Home Sports PM Challenges Football Federation of Samoa to Improve International Results

PM Challenges Football Federation of Samoa to Improve International Results

PM Challenges Football Federation of Samoa to Improve International Results

16 September 2019, Apia Samoa. The 2019 National Senior Football League competition officially opened this morning at the Football Federation Samoa’s (“FFS”) Tuanaimato Complex.

The Honourable Prime Minister of Samoa and FFS Patron Afioga Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi delivered the Keynote address to open the event.

The Honourable Prime Minister reflected on the early beginning of soccer in Samoa. 30 years ago, the Government of Samoa gave this land to FFS officials to run football in the country.

There is no other sport with great facilities in Samoa like Football. However, it’s been 30 years and we haven’t received any positive results from international matches against countries like PNG and other Melanesian islands.

Despite my busy schedule, I made myself available for this event, just to make sure I speak and challenge you all this morning to make use of these great facilities. I challenge the President and Board to work on the development to formulate good results on international tournaments.

On this note I declare the official opening of the 2019 National Senior Football League (“the League”) competition.

The League is the main annual tournament of the year by FFS. The tournament is divided into three divisions (Men’s Premier, Women’s Premier and Men’s First Division).

The winner from the Men’s Premier will represent Samoa in the forthcoming OFC Champions League Tournament thus the tournament draws strong attention from established Soccer Clubs in Samoa.

The League competition is scheduled to run for fourteen (14) weeks. The participating teams are all registered football clubs in Upolu.

FFS provides solid assistance to all the participating teams through the provision of two (2) new sets of uniforms for both Men and Women Divisions. For this year’s tournament, a total of sixteen (16) Teams/Clubs are registered to compete.

The following are the Registered/Participating Clubs for this year’s League.

  1. Adidas SC
  2. Central United
  3. Fa’atoia United
  4. Faleasiu FC
  5. Kiwi FC
  6. Lepea FC
  7. Lotopa SC
  8. Lupe ole Soaga Samoa Rush
  9. Moata’a SC
  10. Moaula FC
  11. Sogi SC
  12. Togafuafua FC
  13. Vaivase tai Soccer Club
  14. Vaitele Uta Soccer Club
  15. Vaipuna Soccer Club
  16. Vaiusu Soccer Club



7:00am                        Teams Parade
7:30am                        Opening Session

Fuata La’i Tautiaga, FFS Vice President

Rev. Senetenari Autagavaia

Keynote Address
Hon. Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi, Prime Minister of Samoa & FFS Patron

Mr Fuata La’i Tautiaga, FFS Vice President

8:30am                        First Match Kicks Off





Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *