OEC Accepts Five Candidates for Gagaifomauga 2 By-Election


14 May 2022 Apia Samoa. At the close of candidate nominations for Samoa’s upcoming Gagaifomauga 2 by-election, the Office of the Electoral Commissioner had received and accepted five applications.

Acting Electoral Commissioner Lefau Francis Ainuu with FAST candidate Lomia Tauloa Moafanua Siaaga (L) and HRPP candidate Sooalo Umi Feo Mene (R)≈. Fri 13 May 2022, Candidate Registration Day. Photos: OEC.

Acting Electoral Commissioner Lefau Francis Ainuu announced the five candidates as one FAST, two HRPP and two Independents.

The constituency of Gagaifomauga 2 in Savaii includes the villages of Samauga, Pai’a, Lefagaoalii, Leagiagi, Matavai, Safune, Faletagaloa and Fatuvalu.

The seat was vacated by the sudden passing of Associate Minister for Agriculture and Fisheries, Hon Vaele Paiaaua Iona Sekuini Paiaaua.

The Faatuatua i Le Atua Samoa ua Tasi party have endorsed Lomia Tauloa Moafanua Siaaga, a matai from Safune who is currently outside of the village council.

Laaulialemalietoa with Independent candidate Tofa Foisala Lilo Tuu Ioane, Sui Tutoatasi.

The two Independents, Falesaopule Vaialia Iosua and Foisala Lilo Tuu Ioane are also both from Safune.

The two Human Rights Protection Party candidates are both from the village of Samauga.

By-election Candidates: L-R Lomia Tauloa Moafanua Siaaga of FAST, Independent Falesaopule Vaialia Iosua and HRPPs Sooalo Fineaso Poka Sooalo – outside the OEC registration room, 13 May 2022, Ganasavea Manuia/SGN.

The mood was friendly between candidates at the Office of the Electoral Commssioner as they came in on Friday morning to enter their nominations.

Village Council members from Safune and Samauga village were also present to show their support for candidates.

Candidates from Gagaifomauga 2 constituency sit side by side at the nomination table, OEC, Fri 13 May 2022.

The period for objections which can be filed against a candidate’s eligibility is now open. The election will be held on Friday 3rd June.

Samoa’s Parliament is currently 31 FAST, 22 HRPP including the three women yet to be sworn in.

The Gagaifomauga 2 seat will make Samoa’s 17th Parliament a sitting of 54 members.