Jennifer Ula-Fruean Returns as Chamber President for 2019


26 March 2019, Apia Samoa.  The Samoa Chamber of Commerce and Industry held its Annual General Meeting last night at the Sheraton Hotel in Apia.

Close to 200 members attended the AGM where the 2019 Executive Council was elected.

Chief Financial Officer of BSP Samoa and former Treasurer of Chamber, Jennifer Ula-Fruean returns for her second year as President.

Lauaki Jason Annandale resigned as Vice President to concentrate on his role as President of the Samoa Cancer Society. Seulupe Michelle MacDonald of British American Tobacco is the new Vice President.

Shorley Mariner of OSM Consultants moves from Executive Council member to take on the role of Secretary while long serving Council Member Asiata Alex Brunt of Ah Liki Investment will now serve as Treasurer.

The Office of the Electoral Commissioner attended the AGM to facilitate the election of Executive Officers where 5 members competed for 3 positions. President of Samoa Stationery and Books (SSAB) Tofilau Fiti Leung Wai joins the Samoa Chamber of Commerce Executive Council for the first time with Tom Hogarth of Transam. Taiaopo Andrew Ah Liki of Bluebird Lumber returns as the third elected Council member.

As the National Private Sector Organisation in Samoa, Chamber members endorsed Tupai Saleimoa Vaai of the Samoa Hotel Association (SHA), Afoa Arasi Tiotio of Women in Business Incorporated (WIBDI), and Taunese Purvis of Business of Salafai Association (BOSA).

The 3 Past Presidents who continue to serve on Chamber Council as per its Constitution are Tuiloma Sina Retzlaff, Tupai Klaus Stunzner and Tuala Pat Leota.