Independent Candidate Foisala Lilo Ioane Wins Gagaifomauga 2 By-Election


Independent candidate Foisala Lilo Ioane has won the Gagaifomauga No2 by-election with a 61-vote margin over second placed Human Rights Protection Party candidate, Sooalo Poka.

File photo: FAST Party Chair Laaulialemalietoa with Foisala Lilo Tuu Ioane, Sui Tutoatasi.

Independent candidates are allowed by Law now to move to a Party if they so wish to do so and the newest Member of Samoa’s Parliament has already indicated he intends to join the Faatuatua i Le Atua Samoa ua Tasi party.

The Office of the Electoral Commissioner (OEC) live-streamed the official count from the Stevenson’s at Manase Hotel on Saturday afternoon.

Fo’isala Lilo Ioane polled 441 votes while Sooalo Poka secured 380. Third placed independent candidate, Palesaopule Vaialia Iosua polled 274 while Faatuatua i Samoa ua Tasi (FAST) candidate Lomia Tauloa Moafanua Siaaga polled 259.

Fo’isala has won with just 441 votes, in a constituency where according to the OEC, there were 2,031 eligible voters registered when the official list was finalised.

441 votes is 32.2% of the total votes.

Only 1,369 people turned out to vote – just 67% of eligible voters for Gagaifomauga No. 2.

All candidates’ final votes add up to 1,367 – and there were 2 votes declared void.

The OEC have also issued the final official count by booth.

The independent seat fills the 51 seats in Samoa’s Parliament where FAST currently holds a majority of 30 seats while HRPP hold 20.