Faleata Primary Schools enjoy “Get into Rugby-QuickRip” Festival


Thirteeen primary schools gathered at St Joseph’s College, Alafua, yesterday to celebrate the Faleata Festival hosted by Get into Rugby (GiR) – Quick Rip.

The 13 schools were divided into four Pools and two Divisions – Under 10s and Under 13s. For Under 13’s, Lepea Primary School won the U13 boys while Ah Mu Academy won U13 girls. For the Under 10’s, Lepea took a clean sweep, taking both boys and girls that division.

In the U13 boys final match, Lepea Primary School came out stronger to beat Peace Chapel by only 5 points with a final score of 10-5.  The U13 girls cup final between Ah Mu Academy and Vaigaga Primary School was also a close match of 10-5.

U13 Boys Champions – Lepea Primary School, PC: SRU
U13 Girls Champions – Ah Mu Academy, PC: SRU

For the cup final for the boys under 10, Lepea beat Robert Louis Stevenson by 5-0, while the cup final of the U10 girls saw Lepea take on Saina/Toamua, also winning by 5-0.

U10 Boys Champions – Lepea Primary School, PC: SRU
U10 Girls Champions – Lepea Primary School, PC: SRU

The Most Valuable Players (MVP) of the day were, from the U13 Boys division – Corinthian Ah Sam from Lepea Primary School, U13 Girls – Etevise Roberts from Ah Mu Academy, U10 Boys – Tui Mareko Edward of Lepea Primary School and Divina Sione also from Lepea Primary School was MVP for the U10 Girls division.

U13 Boys MVP – Corinthian Ah Sam of Lepea Primary School, PC : SRU
U13 Girls MVP – Etevise Roberts of Ah Mu Academy, PC : SRU
U10 Boys MVP – Tui Mareko Edward of Lepea Primary School, PC : SRU
U10 Girls MVP – Divina Sione of Lepea Primary School, PC : SRU

Faleata makes it the third district now completed for the GiR-QuickRip Series of primary schools festival. Similar programmes have already been held for Lepa & Lotofaga as well as the Amoa districts. The programme now moves on to cover Palauli, Anoamaa and Vaimauga districts.

The Get into Rugby / Quick Rip programme is a development initiative of the Samoa Rugby Union supported by the Government of New Zealand. Amongst the coordinators are former Manu Samoa 7’s captain Afa Aiono, and former Manu Samoa hooker, Andrew Williams.

Jaleen Tupai