Clean Sweep for FAST Party in By-Elections: All HRPP Resigned MPs Return to Parliament


The ruling Faatuatua i Le Atua Samoa ua Tasi (FAST) party has won a clean sweep of all three seats that went to by-elections today.

Consequently, all three Members of Parliament who won the April 2021 general election but resigned from the opposition Human Rights Protection Party, will return to Parliament as FAST party members.

Preliminary results from the three voting booths for Faleata 4 published by the Office of the Electoral Commission shows Ale Vena Ale securing a landslide win over Ulu Bismark Fuluausou Crawley by 867 votes to 396. A difference of 471 votes.

For Vaa-o-Fonoti, business entrepreneur Mau’u Siaosi Puepuemai secured 739 votes in the preliminary count – 538 ahead of second placed Leausa Dr Take Naseri with 201 votes.

For Siumu, policeman Faalogo Lafaele Kapeli was ahead by a narrow 35 votes after the 4 booths within Siumu were announced. However, the Special Booth result saw veteran MP Tuuu Anasii Leota pull ahead to secure a total of 599 votes to Faalogo’s 505. Tuuu Amaramo secured 184 votes in total.

The 3 additional seats means the ruling FAST party now have 35 seats to HRPPs 18.

The average voter turnout was 60% across the 3 constituencies however, Faleata had a slightly better voter turnout with 62% of registered voters turning up to vote while Vaa-o-Fonoti had 61% and Siumu 59%.

Public Notices