By-Election Date for Savaii’s Gagaifomauga II Constituency Confirmed

File Photo. OEC officials and Scrutineers hard at work during the official count of April 9th General Elections. TAIELUA, SGN.

26 April 2022 Apia Samoa. The by-election date for the Gagaifomauga II parliamentary seat vacated by the sudden passing of Vaele Paiaaua Iona Sekuini, has been set for Friday 3rd June 2022.

Acting Electoral Commissioner Lefau Francis Ainuu.

Acting Commissioner of the Electoral Office, Lefau Francis Ainuu, confirmed the date in response to questions from Samoa Global News.

“We received the official warrant from the Speaker of Parliament, afioga Papalii Lio Taeu Masepau last Wednesday,” said Lefau.

The Office of the Electoral Commissioner has set the process into motion. Ainuu said the official dates will soon be released, including the period for candidates to register their interest, and the period set down for pre-election petitions as allowed in Samoa’s current election process.

Last night, the OEC issued a public notice advising of the temporary closure of the electoral roll for Gagaifomauga II – a Savaii electorate which comprises the villages of Safune, Samauga, Paia, Matavai, Leagiagi, Lefaga-o-Alii, Fatuvalu and Faletagaloa.

2021 General Election Results for Gagaifomauga II.

In the 9 April 2021 general elections, the late Hon Vaele Paiaaua had taken the seat by a comfortable margin over then incumbent, Sooalo Umi Feo Mene of HRPP. Medical doctor, Peauala Titi Lamese of HRPP had come in third, with half the votes of Vaele.

Hon Vaele Paiaaua had served under the FAST government as Associate Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries, and had also been the Chairman of Samoa’s Parliamentary Finance and Expenditure Committee, alongside former Prime Minister and Opposition Leader, Tuilaepa Dr. Sa’ilele Malielegaoi who is the Deputy Chairman.